Michael Clarke Duncan of ‘Green Mile’ fame dies at 54


(Photo: Warner Bros. Pictures/Everett Collection)

“The Green Mile” was nominated for four Oscars in 2000 and won 15 other awards including best supporting actor trophies for Duncan from the Black Reel Awards and the Broadcast Film Critics Association Awards.

Born and raised on Chicago’s South Side and brought up by a single mother, Duncan is said to have resisted temptations of drugs and alcohol, instead focusing on school and acting. He worked digging ditches after attending community college, according to his biography on IMDb.com, then quit his job and moved to Hollywood, launching his acting career while in his thirties. More than three years ago, Duncan is said to have become a vegetarian, and appeared in a video for animal rights organization PETA earlier this year.

Michael Clarke Duncan — best known for his Oscar-nominated role as a death row inmate who possessed magical healing powers in the 1999 film “The Green Mile” — died on Monday at the age of 54, according to his fiancee Omarosa Manigault-Stallworth.
Duncan had been in a Los Angeles hospital since July 13 following a heart attack and died on Monday morning after close to two months of treatment.

At 6-feet, 5-inches tall and approximately 300 pounds, Duncan was nominated for an Academy Award and a Golden Globe for his role as gentle giant prisoner John Coffey in “The Green Mile,” also starring Tom Hanks. Duncan won the role, in part, due to a recommendation by Bruce Willis, who he worked with on 1998’s “Armageddon.” Duncan went on to appear with Willis in three more films — “Breakfast of Champions,” “The Whole Nine Yards” and “Sin City.”

Before he broke into acting, Duncan worked as a bodyguard for stars including Will Smith, Martin Lawrence, Jamie Foxx, LL Cool J, and The Notorious B.I.G. — whose 1997 death prompted him to quit that line of work.

Duncan’s career spanned three decades and included roles in other television and film titles including “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air,” “Married with Children,” “The Jamie Foxx Show,” “Living Single,” “Bulworth,” “Arli$$,” “A Night at the Roxbury,” “Sister, Sister,” “Planet of the Apes,” “CSI: NY,” “Talladega Nights,” “Two and a Half Men,” “Bones,” and most recently “The Challenger,” which is yet to be released.

Duncan was a prolific voice-over actor as well, lending his rumbling baritone to animated characters in “Kung Fu Panda,” “King of the Hill,” “Family Guy,” “Green Lantern,” and many others. The African American actor also played The Kingpin in 2003’s “Daredevil,” starring Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner — a notable achievement seeing as the character in the original comics, on which the film is based, was always depicted as being white. (NEWS Resource)

37 thoughts on “Michael Clarke Duncan of ‘Green Mile’ fame dies at 54

  1. Pingback: Mercury Outboard Motor

  2. I’ll right away clutch your rss feed as I can’t find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me realize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  3. Definitely believe that that you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to have in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get irked even as other folks consider issues that they plainly do not understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as neatly as defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , folks can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  4. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or something. I think that you simply can do with a few p.c. to force the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  5. certainly like your web-site however you have to test the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the reality then again I will certainly come again again.

  6. hey there and thanks for your information ? I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did alternatively experience a few technical points the usage of this website, since I skilled to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I may get it to load correctly. I have been considering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading circumstances instances will sometimes have an effect on your placement in google and can injury your high quality ranking if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this once more soon..

  7. The purchase, sale, rent of the earth, real estate in Dominican republic. Legal services: visa registration, a driving licence, service of the lawyer, opening of the new company on a turn-key basis, sale of the ready companies. A translation service. The

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the supply?|What i don’t understood is in reality how you’re not really a lot more neatly-appreciated than you might be right now. You are very intelligent.

  9. Great items from you, man. I have be aware your stuff prior to and you are simply extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have obtained right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to learn far more from you. That is really a wonderful web site.

  10. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am glad to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot undoubtedly will make certain to don?t fail to remember this web site and give it a glance regularly.

  11. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have learn this post and if I could I wish to recommend you some fascinating issues or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to learn more things about it!

  12. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually realize what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Please additionally discuss with my website =). We may have a hyperlink exchange agreement among us

  13. I am extremely impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the format on your weblog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize it your self? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

  14. Thank you for any other excellent post. The place else may anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal means of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the search for such info.

  15. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to grasp so much about this, like you wrote the e-book in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with some percent to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  16. I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours today, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty value enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the net might be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  17. Pingback: Penis Enlargement

  18. After exploring a few of the blog posts on your site, I really like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  19. You could certainly see your skills within the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  20. Pingback: Mariah Hojeij

  21. hello there and thanks in your information ? I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did then again experience several technical issues the use of this site, since I skilled to reload the site lots of instances prior to I could get it to load correctly. I have been thinking about if your web hosting is OK? No longer that I am complaining, however sluggish loading circumstances instances will very frequently have an effect on your placement in google and could harm your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much extra of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  22. Hi there! This article couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

